AXΣ Sigma Chapter

We are the Sigma Chapter of Alpha Chi Sigma at the University of California, Berkeley.

Alpha Chi Sigma is a professional co-ed fraternity whose brothers share a common interest in chemistry. In practice, however, our brothers are involved in a wide variety of academic and professional pursuits!

The 3 Objects of the Fraternity:

To bind

its members with a tie of true and lasting friendship.

To strive

for the advancement of chemistry both as a science and as a profession.

To aid

its members by every honorable means in the attainment of their ambitions as chemists throughout their mortal lives.


At the University of Wisconsin at Madison on December 11th, 1902, nine undergraduate chemists convened to establish the Alpha Chi Sigma fraternity:

Raymond Tracy Conger
Harold Everett Eggers
Joseph Gerard Holty
Alfred Emil Kundert
Joseph Howard Mathews
Edward Gustav Mattke
Bart Eldred McCormick
Frank Joseph Petura
James Chisholm Silverthorn

The nine fathers listed above intened for Alpha Chi Sigma to promote professional and academic success in the field of chemistry, while enabling aspiring chemists to better get to know one another. Today, Alpha Chi Sigma remains true to its original goals. 50 chapters have collectively initiated over 70,000 brothers!

Sigma Chapter

The Sigma Chapter at UC Berkeley was founded in 1913. Brothers in our chapter have gone on to earn renound prizes and make life-changing discoveries:

Joel Henry Hildebrand (Sigma 1913): Priestley Medal, 1962
Gilbert N. Lewis (Sigma 1913)
Frederick Gardner Cottrell (Sigma 1917)
Linus C. Pauling (Sigma 1940): Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1954; Nobel Prize in Peace, 1962
Willard F. Libby (Sigma 1941): Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 1960
Darleane Hoffman (Sigma 1988): Priestley Medal, 2000

External Contacts

Emily Bloom
District Counselor

Elijah Sheratt
House Manager